Tour of the Church with maps

All Souls’ Episcopal Church

Tour of the Church

Please click on these links for maps of All Souls Main & Lower levels

All Souls’ Main Level

All Souls’ Lower Level

Stained Glass Windows

NARTHEX:  In a traditionally arranged church such as All Souls’ a room or space between the main door to the outside and the nave.

Colmbarium:  It is an ancient practice to bury the dead within the church and the Columbarium provides a way of doing this.  Surrounding the small chapel to the right of the entrance to the church, the Columbarium consists of closed niches for the repose of the cremated remains of the departed.  It also reminds us of the Communion of Saints, living and dead.

Baptismal Font:  We become Christians and members of the Body of Christ by means of baptism, which takes place at the Font.  It is placed at the entrance of the Church to remind us that it is only through the Sacrament of Baptism that we enter as members into the Church.

Pascal Candle:  A single, large, white candle which is lighted from the new fire at the Vigil of Easter and is carried into the Church during the singining of the Exsultet.  The candle remains in the chancel and burns at all services during the Easter season, representing for us the Light of Christ, one of the great symbols of our Easter hope.  For the remainder of the year, the Pascal Candle is found in the Narthex and is used at Baptisms and Burials.

NAVE:  The large space for worship between the narthex and the chancel or choir.

Stations of the Cross:  An ancient devotion consisting of the 14 significant events on Jesus’ way to Calvary, known as “Via Dolorosa” or the Way of Sorrows.  The 14 stations hang between the stained glass windows on both sides of the nave with the first station being the closest to the pulpit.  The Stations of the Cross is observed weekly during Lent.

Hymn Boards:  Located on the walls of the Church, these tell us what Liturgical Season it is, which Sunday within that season, and the hymns to be sung at each service of worship.  Principal seasons of the Church year are Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Easter, Ascension and Pentacost.

Kneelers:  Each pew is equiped with a kneeler for personal worship.  A helpful rule of thumb for Anglican worship is “stand to praise, sit to learn, kneel to pray.”  Needlepoint kneeling cushions depicting the symbols of our faith and tradition surround the altar rail.

Needlepoint Cushions at Altar Rail

Parish Missal:  A booklet is found in the pew racks which contain the services of Holy Communion and Morning and Evening Prayer, also known as the “Daily Offices.”  The eight ancient monastic services of prayer, reading, psalmody and praise were combined into the two services of Morning Prayer and Evening Prayer which are said daily at All Souls’.

Stained Glass Windows:  The mosaic glass windows which were dedicated in 1964 were designed and executed by Pierre Millous of Chartres, France.  Of the twelve windows, eight depict the Beatitudes, and the other four depict symbols of The Holy Gospel, The Book of Common Prayer, All Souls’ and the patron saints of the Diocese of Oklahoma and the Episcopal Church.  Click here for a description of the windows.

CHANCEL AND SANCTUARY:  The area surrounding the Altar, including the choir area, the organ, and the altar rail.

Pulpit:  An elevated podium at the front of the Chancel on the north side (also known as the Gospel side) from which the Gospel is normally read and the sermon preached.

Choir:  An area of raised pews from which the Choir sings and Lay Readers read the Epistle.

Organ: A published history of this magnificent All Souls’ organ is organ availabe by clicking on these links:  Church Organ Description  Chapel of StMary Organ Description

Communion Rail:  The curved rail before the altar where the congregation kneels to receive Holy Communion.  The needlepoint cushions were dedicated in 1965.  A detailed description of the cushions is available.

The Altar:  The Holy Table upon which the bread and wine are consecrated to become the Body and Blood of Christ during the celebration of Holy Communion.  This service is also known as the Eucharist, which means “thanksgiving.”

The Altar Cross:  Many different forms of crosses are used to hang above the altar.  The All Souls’ altar cross is known as the “Christus Victor,” which means “Christ the Victor.”  This triumphal cross is an ancient symbol of Christ’s victory over death and represents Christ reigning from the Cross.

Aumbry & Lamp:  The Aumbry is a recess on the east wall of the sanctuary to the left of the Altar which contains the consecrated bread and wine known as the Reserved Sacrament.  The sanctuary lamp hangs over the Aumbry and burns continuously to signify the presence of the sacrament.  The Reserved Sacrament is used primarily for the sick and shut-ins.